Western US Moto Adventure: A note on technical difficulties

First, the touch screen on our GPS is getting increasingly flaky. Most of the time, you can’t use the touch screen to enter a new destination. It still works find to navigate by our preplanned routes, but that’s pretty limiting. We paid a lot of money for this thing, which was supposedly designed specifically for use on motorcycles (with glove friendly controls, sun readable screen, able to withstand weather, etc.), so we expect it to work. It figures that’s its worked fine for years, and then breaks while we’re on a big trip.

Second, the remote on my helmet mounted camera isn’t working. It works fine while standing still, but will not take pictures while I’m riding at speed, which is the entire point. I’m really disappointed by this, as it has worked fine for the last year, but now doesn’t work when I want it to the most. It would have worth it to bring along if it worked, as I have gotten some neat shots in the past, but now its an expensive brick in my tank bag, and I haven’t been able to get any action shots this entire trip so far. Right now, I have no idea if there’s anything I can do about this.

This entry was posted in 2012 Cross Country, 2012 Ducati Monster 696, Moto Ride Reports, Motorcycles +. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

