Link – The Robot Cars are Coming

…and I STILL CAN’T WAIT. Anyone who knows me knows how I feel about robot cars.

This Wired article on Audi’s prototype self-driving car is an excellent report of the current state of technology for autonomous driving. It does a great job of dispelling the oddly pervasive (in my experience) myth that we’ll all just magically one day go from manual to fully robotic driving in cars with no steering wheels (or some such).  Instead, autonomous features are slowly being made available.

Check it out: I Rode 500 Miles in a Self-Driving Car and Saw the Future. It’s Delightfully Dull.

Some key quotes that I liked:

“Piloted driving is about safety and comfort.”

“Our experience is that our customer wants to accept first and understand first what they are getting, and what the limitations are as well,” says Schlinkheider. I don’t understand the opposition to robot cars at all. I get that some people like driving sometimes. I know I like the experience of driving on a curvy road. But not on a long, boring highway trip. Why the opposition to having options? Not everyone likes to drive all the time. Wouldn’t it be nice not to have to? Imagine the possibilities: safe texting and playing with your phone while going down the road, taking a nap, no more worries about drunk or impaired or tired driving, safe transportation for the elderly who really shouldn’t be driving any longer, blind people could have their own cars and use them by themselves. I could go on. The Audi car in the article isn’t there yet, but I have no doubt it will be eventually.

This entry was posted in Links. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

