Happy New Year 2016, and a PSA

Ok, fine, 10 days in, and no “traditional” year end wrap up post and outlook for the new year, or fun pics. We’re hard at work here at casa de AmyTracker. 2015 was another good year for us, and we have a whole lot to look forward to in 2016. We continue to be excited and hopeful about our future. I expect I’ll have some exciting content to post here soon.

However; I think I’ll start out 2016 with a PSA (I expect Kevin is tired of hearing me complain, so I’ll do it here instead:) –  If you are thinking about upgrading to Windows 10, don’t. Just don’t do it. I didn’t know I could dislike Microsoft any more than I already do, but once again, I am disappointed. I’ve been using Win10 now for approximately 3 days, and the buyers remorse is strong. Windows 7 was working great, I should have left it alone. The shortlist of my “upgrade”, which is not exhaustive:

  • My desktop icons re-shuffle into a random order and position on start up, or on returning from sleep mode, or sometimes just randomly DURING USE. Sometimes they re-shuffle on top of one another (yes, seriously). This is turning out to be a lot more obnoxious than I would have guessed if I hadn’t experienced this in person.
  • I had to pay $200+ for Quickbooks, because the version I was using wasn’t compatible on the newer OS. This happens, I get it, but I’m tired of being forced to pay for software upgrades so often. This isn’t the only app I’ve paid for several times already. It also took me half a day (yes, seriously, about 4 hours) to get that one specific app working properly on windows 10, including a tech support call. This app was the worst, but I’ve had trouble with many others. Again, software compatibility problems are expected, but this round was the worst I’ve ever experienced. (Edit – after I re-booted, it stopped working again. I can’t fix it. I need it to work. Intuit programs are obnoxious enough to begin with, but apparently Intuit + Microsoft = the ultimate combination of suck.)
  • Windows forgets I’m using a multiple monitor set up, and won’t detect my other monitors. I can fix it through the control panel, but I shouldn’t have to.
  • Once again, all kinds of settings have been moved, and I have to google where to find them. I also have fewer settings, and can’t fix things I could have before (why is the handling of a multiple monitor display so terrible? really? why can’t I adjust how the screen saver displays so its not stupidly displayed across all three screens?? etc., etc.)
  • My laptop often won’t wake up from sleep mode, and I have to re-boot, which causes my desktop icons to re-arrange themselves, my external monitors to stop working, and a bunch of settings to revert to some other state.
  • The sound doesn’t work. As in, the test sounds from the control panel work, but there is no audio from any sort of media file or online video, etc.
  • My wireless keyboard is flaky. This might be the new laptop, and not Windows 10. I dunno. It’s the same keyboard that worked great with my previous PC.
  • Insert long list of other stuff that broke here, but am too lazy to type out.

Windows has been around for what, 30 years? You suck at your job Microsoft. I’m going to try for another couple of days, and look for more driver updates and such, but if I can’t get a more stable system soon, I’m going to throw out a day and half of work, and go back to windows 7 (and install all those apps, again).

Edit 01/12/2016: I give up. I still can’t get some apps (including Quickbooks to work), or the sound, or any improvement on other generally buggy behavior. Its decided, Windows 10 is a STEAMING PILE OF GARBAGE, and I’m going to back to 7.

 

This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year 2016, and a PSA

  1. Katrina says:

    I have Windows 10 on my computer at work and I am miserable now! Threw my sharing off with the other computers in the office and took them a week to fix it! Could’nt remove it So THANKS BOSS!! I am now utterly miserable. Stupid Windows 10!

Leave a Reply

