New Job

Well, I guess its time to share the news. About two weeks ago, I started a new job working as a manufacturing engineer for Weil-Mclain, a manufacturing company in Eden, NC, (Monday, March 17th was my first day). This obviously means I no longer work for MTB, the truck body and trailer manufacturer in Hight Point, NC. MTB was an excellent first job out of school; I learned quite a bit, and worked with some really great people in the nearly two and a half years I worked there. However, the right opportunity presented itself, and I felt compelled to give it a shot.

One advantage to this move is the much, MUCH shorter commute (only 15 miles to Eden from my house, as opposed to 42 miles to High Point.)  My commute was becoming a progressively worse  quality of life issue for me, and, given where I live, something I thought I would not be able to change. While the position itself is a little bit of a career change, its going to be an excellent opportunity to grow and learn how things are done at a larger, publicly traded company (WM is owned by manufacturing conglomerate SPX.) Plus, improved pay and benefits factored into my decision a bit too:)

Now all I have to do is meet the challenge of learning a new job with new (to me) product lines, in a whole new industry, in a completely new environment. So far so good though; I am cautiously optimistic :)

03-29-08 ultra 03-29-08 GV

This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to New Job

  1. AnonyMous says:

    HVAC ?

  2. AnonyMous says:

    HYDRONIC HEATING ?

  3. AnonyMous says:

    340,000 Square Foot FACILITY ?

  4. AnonyMous says:

    H. E. A. T. ?

  5. AnonyMous says:

    COMMERCIAL ? HYDRONICS HEATING SYSTEMS ?

  6. uncle bill says:

    way to go Amy !!!!

  7. MzDai says:

    CONGRATULATIONS :-) :-) :-) MzDai & Don & Ron

  8. AnonyMous says:

    ZOOM ! ZOOM !

  9. AnonyMous says:

  10. AnonyMous says:

    . . .

  11. AnonyMous says:

    UP-DATE ?

  12. AnonyMous says:

    ?

  13. AnonyMous says:

    ? ?

  14. ? says:

    ? ? ? ? ? ?

  15. ? says:

    ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

  16. ? says:

    ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

  17. ? says:

    ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

  18. ? ? says:

    ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

  19. ? ? says:

    ? ? / / / / ? / / ? ?

  20. ? ? says:

    ? ? .. , ? ? > > . ? ?

  21. ? ? says:

    ? ? …………………?

  22. ? ? says:

    THE REVOLUTION; A MANIFESTO BY RON PAUL is #1 BESTSELLER on AMAZON.com

  23. MzDai says:

    still #3 Amazon Best$eller :-)

  24. MzDai says:

    HAPPY FIRST ANNIVERSARY ! Tomorrow ! to Amy & Kevin from Blue Cap & Mum & Da’.

  25. ? ? says:

    ?……….,,? ?

  26. ? ? says:

    #8 Bestseller on the 8th…

  27. ? ? says:

    # 7 Amazon Best$eller

  28. ? ? says:

    # 9 Best$eller :-)

  29. Christina says:

    you should post a picture of our Ultra Series 3 :)

    I work at the Michigan City office in marketing.

    Welcome to Weil-McLain!

  30. amytracker says:

    Thank you Christina. Do note that I started on March 17, 2008, not 2009, but I don’t believe we’ve met. (Ultra series 2 was still in production when I started, but you’re right, the picture doesn’t show what we currently make). Be sure to say hello on your next visit to Eden, I’ll either be in the mfg. engineering office, on the floor, or in a meeting:)

    (Not that I mind, but how on earth did you find my blog??:)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.